#7 BarFlyMag.com

barflybannerWhen I first became of age in Portland, OR, Citysearch was the place for information about where to go Friday night.  I hated Citysearch.  It felt fake.  It made me believe that the only genuine reviews they had to offer were the over-the-top negative comments.  My knowledge of bars in my area and where I worked was limited.  Then I found Barflymag.com and my social life was changed forever.

As a naturally sarcastic person, who enjoys a stiff drink, I found that Barfly was tailored to me and the Portland community.  You see, Portlanders are not overly optimistic people.  We tend to think that if something is perfect then in reality we are actually blind to see its imperfections, thus making us depressed.  I think weather or KPTV Fox12 news has something to do with this depression as well.

When you first heard of a “$1 Pabst happy hour”, you immediately thought, “Oh, but it’s probably between 3:30-5:30 pm and you have to order food too and you have too…”.  Our pessimistic nature protects us from looking like an out-of-towner*.  Barfly was created to provide us inside knowledge about all the bars in Portland including details about happy hour prices. When considering an after work drink, Barfly is a great resource for what really is a good deal in my area.

In addition, Barfly provides extremely accurate reviews.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect upon my first trip to the Dixie Tavern until I read Barfly’s review:

“Half-assed Coyote Ugly wannabe swarms with meatheads on the make, while can-tanned girls-gone-mild clamber up on the bar to drop it like it’s lukewarm. When their mechanical bull is out, means of making an ass of oneself are upped exponentially.”

McFadden’s?

“A so-called “Irish pub” for the frat boy set, McFadden’s strives to be the large and vaguely antiseptic college bar Portland never really had. Weekends are a meat market with no cover before 10 PM and cheap drink specials practically guaranteed to lure underage women with fake IDs into improprieties. The crowd’s made up of suburbanites who’ve clearly dressed themselves carefully for the occasion, but the vibe can be fun nonetheless as DJs spin undeniably-danceable booty music into the wee hours.”

Love it.  Hell, one more, Gypsy:

“Ages ago, when Portland’s scenesters could be counted on two hands and space-age retro-futuristic interiors seemed thrillingly new/old, The Gypsy was the nervy pinnacle of a burgeoning northwest cool. And, to some sort of credit, we’re sure – they didn’t bother to change with the times. A separate dining room must, you’d imagine, be occasionally entered while the bar itself attracts the sort of folks aiming to avoid those upon the avenue that may judge stained sweat-shirts or particularly down-market bachelorette parties puking AMF fishbowls upon vintage booths.”

There isn’t a better site in this area to provide you with a true representation of what your experience will be.  If you completely hate Barfly, then read the community comments below.  They tend to include more colorful language, but generally the positives and negatives are right.  So next time, do yourself a favor and check out BarFlymag.com before you end up at The Agency.

*I’ve found that born and raised Portlanders (not Beavertrons, Greshamites, etc.) would rather kill themselves than be thought of as an “out of towner”

7 Responses to “#7 BarFlyMag.com”


  1. 1 reid c February 21, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Yep. It was especially cool when they published their pocket-sized magazin that you could stuff in your pocket while inebriating yourself all over the neighborhood. Half treasure map, half bible.

  2. 2 Jen Lane February 22, 2009 at 12:07 am

    You’re so awesome! Thanks a lot. I’ve got a red hot BarFly t-shirt with your name on. Email me!

    Your pal,

    Jen Lane

  3. 3 BarFgroupie March 11, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I sooo miss the magazine! They should bring it back! But the site has bloggers and some of them are piss funny. My faves are the surly bartendress and the Bloody Mary guy. I’m not wild about the site’s recent makeover but that won’t stop me from checking it often. I’m hooked!

  4. 4 TiTi Martini March 30, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    Speaking of bloggers, where have they been lately? Jail? Rehab?(Noooooo!!!!!) The last blog was in January, what gives? I really doubt they all stopped going to bars.

  5. 5 Ryan T. April 5, 2009 at 4:55 am

    I love Barflymag. LOVE it. Apparently they’re doing a Eugene section, too..

  6. 6 amy May 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Don’t get me wrong, I’ll always have mad love for barfly. Their breakdown for bars in this area can’t really be beat. But I also have a new found love for this iphone app from GoTime.com. They’ve got all of the happy hours in the city on my freakin phone!! I don’t know how the iphone does it, but the gps thingy tells the happy hour app where Im at, and the app tells me where the nearest happy hour is based on where im standing. kinda kicks ass, especially late night. http://www.gotime.com/mobile

  7. 7 WTF, Jen? May 20, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Barflys sagging lately. They used to have fresh reviews to read every day now its maybe 5 a week.Not everyone gets out much and wants to start an account and if they have to they just wont bother writing anything. It used to be lots more funny and witty than yelp but now that its not so easy anymore its losing its place as the first place to check. And they need to kick their writers into gear and have them write more often. Its depressing when the latest blog entry was 2 mos ago. C’mon Jen, do something!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

